This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.



An internationally recognised system that enables us to comprehend the characteristics and value of a diamond and fairly compare stones. The Four C's are carat, colour, clarity, and cut.

Here's what you need to know...


Diamond colour actually measures lack of colour!
Diamond colour is graded from D (colourless) to Z (tinted) using an international colour grading scale. The closer a diamond is to being colourless, the rarer and more valuable it is.

At EC One, our diamonds are G colour and above.

"Fancy coloured diamonds" have a strong, even colour such as yellow, pink, or blue. These are very rare and consequently very expensive. Natural brown diamonds, also called Cognac or Champagne diamonds, are increasing in popularity and are a stunning alternative to the classic white diamond. Trace elements in the stone give a diamond its color. For example, a blue diamond often has boron within its structure, and a fancy canary yellow color comes from nitrogen.


Natural diamonds are created when carbon is exposed to extreme heat and pressure deep in the Earth. During this process, various internal characteristics called 'inclusions' and external characteristics occur.

Every diamond is unique and can be recognised by the unique fingerprints of these little marks.

Grading a diamond's clarity involves determining the number, size, type, and position of these inclusions and how they affect the stone's appearance and durability.

Remember that no diamond is perfectly pure. But the closer it comes to purity, the better its clarity is. Clarity grading ranges from internally flawless stones (FI/IF) to those that have tiny inclusions which can just be seen by the naked eye.

EC One uses diamonds of S1 clarity and above.

Flawless (FL) No inclusions and no blemishes visible under magnification.
Internally Flawless (IF) No inclusions visibleunder magnification. 
Very, Very Slightly Included(VVS1 and VVS2) Inclusions so slight they are difficult for a skilled grader to see under magnification.
Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2) Inclusions are observed with effort under magnification.
Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2) Inclusions are noticeable under magnification.
Included (I1I2, and I3) Inclusions are obvious under magnification which may affect transparency and brilliance and even durability.


The "Cut" of a diamond refers to how well its facets interact with light. The diamond's "brilliance" depends on the precision of its cut. When a diamond is cut with perfect proportions, light can reflect internally and disperse through the top, creating that sparkling effect. An excellently cut diamond is characterized by:

Brightness: The white light reflected from a diamond.

Fire: The breaking up of white light into all the colours of the rainbow.

Scintillation: The amount of sparkle a diamond produces and the pattern of light and dark areas caused by reflections within the diamond.


The carat weight of a diamond is how much it weighs, and so it is a very good indication of its size.

Historically, a 'carat' was originally defined as the weight of a carob seed, which was believed to be consistent in shape, size, and weight. However, this was not the most precise metric!
Today, A metric "carat" is defined as 200 milligrams. Diamonds are described as carats and points. A one-carat (1ct) diamond equates to 100 points, so a 1/2 carat (0.50ct) is 50 points.

As the carat weight of a diamond increases, it becomes rarer and more valuable, in conjunction with its clarity and colour, which are also factors that determine its value. While it's not one of the 4 C's, understanding carat weight is important.


No more products available for purchase

Your bag is currently empty.